
HOW CAN THEY DO THAT?
THE FACTS ABOUT NONRENEWAL 
OF PERSONAL AUTO INSURANCE



What are the facts about nonrenewal of personal auto insurance?
Some background information:

When you purchase auto insurance, a company agrees to provide coverage on your vehicle for a 
specific length of time in exchange for an agreed upon premium amount. The length of time that the 
insurance will be in effect is called the policy period. This policy period can range from a minimum of 
three months to a maximum of one year. An insurance company renews your coverage when it lets you 
know that it is extending the term of your auto policy beyond its current policy period. That notice can 
simply be the bill you receive for the amount of the premium due for an additional policy period.

Remember that cancellation and nonrenewal are two different actions:
Please be aware of the difference between nonrenewal and cancellation. Cancellation refers to termination 

of your coverage that can take place at any time during the policy period and is not limited to action at the renewal 
date only. By law, an auto policy can be canceled only for specific reasons:

Nonpayment of premium
The driver’s license or motor vehicle registration of you or the person who is the named insured on the 
policy has been suspended or revoked during the policy period, or within 180 days before the starting 
date of the policy. This also applies to any driver who lives in your home or regularly drives the insured 
vehicle.
The insurance company becomes aware of fraud or misrepresentation on your part to obtain or continue 
coverage, or in  filing a claim under the policy.
The company finds willful acts or omissions by you or the named  insured on the  policy  that increases 
any covered hazard. This includes acts such as putting false information on your policy application or 
deliberately failing to reveal prior convictions or violations. 
The Department of Insurance determines that keeping the 
policy in force would cause the insurance company to be in 
violation of Kentucky statutes or regulations.

Keep in mind that although the final result – termination of your 
auto coverage – is the same, the requirements for cancellation and 
nonrenewal are different.

What nonrenewal means:
Nonrenewal means that your insurance company informs you 

at the time of your policy renewal that it no longer plans to offer you 
coverage. 

What the insurance company is required to do:
The company must notify you that it does not intend to renew your auto insurance at least 75 days before 
the date your policy is due for renewal.
The notice must include the reason for the nonrenewal.  
The insurer must let you know that you might be eligible for coverage through the Kentucky Automobile 
Insurance Plan. 
The company must inform you that you may, within seven days, request in writing that the Commissioner 
of the Department of Insurance determine if there is adequate reason to refuse to renew the policy. This 
request should be made to the Department of Insurance.
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Remember -
An insurance company’s

decision to cancel or nonrenew
your personal auto coverage can
be based not only on your own 
driving record, but also on the

driving records of anyone
who lives in your home or
 who regularly drives the

 insured vehicle.
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In the case of policy cancellation rather than nonrenewal, the advance notice required by the insurance com-
pany is 20 days before the effective date of cancellation. If the cancellation is for nonpayment of premium, at least 
14 days notice must be given. A cancellation notice must also include the reason for ending your coverage.                             

What the insurance company is not allowed to do:
	The insurer cannot refuse to renew a policy only because the insured has a disability, as long as the dis-

ability does not impair the person’s mechanically assisted driving ability.
	A policy cannot be nonrenewed on the basis of race, religion, nationality, ethnic group, age, sex, or marital  

status.
	The company cannot refuse to renew your coverage only because you previously had auto insurance 

from a carrier providing nonstandard coverage.
	The nonrenewal cannot be based only on the fact that another insurer previously declined to insure you 

or terminated your coverage.
	An insurance company cannot refuse to renew an auto insurance policy based only on credit history or 

lack of credit history. However, in the state of Kentucky, credit scoring currently is not prohibited for use 
in underwriting or rating.  

Nonrenewal for nonpayment of premium:
If an insurance company notifies you that it is willing to renew your auto policy and you do not pay the premium 

by the due date, your coverage will end without further notice on that due date.
The company’s responsibility is to send a bill or other notice of its intention to renew the coverage. This 

notice must be sent to the last known address of the person named as the primary insured on the policy at least 
30 days before the end of the current policy period. The amount of the renewal premium and the date the premium 
is due must be clearly stated. If the policy terminates because your renewal premium is not received by the due 
date, the insurer then must send a notice within 15 days letting you know that the policy was not renewed and 
giving the date on which coverage ended.

The policyholder’s responsibility is to be sure that the insurance company is notified of any change of 
address so that bills and other notices can be delivered in a reasonable time period. The policyholder must then 
abide by the terms of the renewal by paying the premium charge by the due date.

What can happen if you drive without insurance:
If the Department of Vehicle Regulation of the Transportation Cabinet learns that you are 

driving without insurance, they will revoke the registration of your vehicle and suspend your 
license plate. If a law enforcement officer stops you, the courts can impose a fine ranging from 
$500 - $1000, a sentence of 90 days in jail or both.  For each additional violation within a five-
year period, the courts can revoke your license for one year, assess a  fine of at least $1,000 
and sentence you to up to six months in jail.

More about the Kentucky Automobile Insurance Plan:
If you are not able to find another source of insurance in the regular market because of your driving record 

or claims experience, you may apply for coverage with the Kentucky Automobile Insurance Plan (KAIP) through 
any agent who sells auto insurance. In general, the Kentucky Automobile Insurance Plan operates as an insurer 
of last resort. It is important that you try to shop around for insurance before applying for KAIP coverage. If you 
find it is necessary to go with the plan, you can cancel your coverage at any time if you secure coverage for your 
vehicle at a lower premium. KAIP will prorate your costs, and any money due to you will be returned. For more 
information, contact any licensed property and casualty agent in your area or call KAIP at 502-327-8909.
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How to request a review by the Department of Insurance:  
Your request for a review of your insurance company’s refusal to renew your auto coverage must be sent to 

the Department in writing or electronically. Be sure to include a copy of the nonrenewal notice you received. No 
verbal requests can be accepted. You can:

File your request through the Department of Insurance website, http://insurance.ky.gov/ by submitting an 
online complaint. 
Fax (502-564-6090) a completed complaint form, available under “Publications,” or a letter asking that 
the company’s decision not to renew your policy be reviewed.
Mail or e-mail the form or letter. (See mailing address on front cover.) To e-mail, go to the Department’s 
website, click on the Division of Consumer Protection and scroll down to “Contact Us.”

Within 14 days of receiving the written request, the findings will be sent to both you and the insurance com-
pany. Both parties also will be notified of their right to ask for a hearing. The person asking for the hearing must 
confirm in writing that he or she will be attending the hearing. The confirmation must be given within a specific 
three-day time frame - no more than five  days or less than two days (48 hours) - before the hearing date. If this 
confirmation is not received, the hearing will be canceled.  

The full text of the statute covering cancellation and nonrenewal, KRS 304.20-040, is available through the 
Department’s website. If you have questions or need more information you may contact the Division of Consumer 
Protection at 800-595-6053 (in Kentucky).
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Kentucky Public Protection Cabinet
Department of Insurance 

P.O. Box 517, Frankfort, KY 40602-0517  
800-595-6053 (in Kentucky); 502-564-3630 (out of state);  TDD: 800-648-6056 

http://insurance.ky.gov

The Kentucky Department of Insurance does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, national origin, sexual orientation 
or gender identity, ancestry, age, disability or veteran status. The cabinet provides, on request, reasonable accommodations necessary 
to afford an individual with a disability an equal opportunity to participate in all services, programs and activities. To request materials 
in an alternate format, contact the Department of Insurance, Communications Office, P.O. Box 517, Frankfort, KY 40602-0517, 800-
595-6053 (in KY) or 502-564-3630 (out of state). Hearing and speech-impaired persons can contact an agency by using the Kentucky 
Relay Service, a toll-free telecommunication service. For Voice to TDD call 800-648-6057. For TDD to Voice, call 800-648-6056.	
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